[staples app]RAD card program helps give money to San Joaquin County businesses, customers
2021-08-06 01:54:25

  San Joaquin County has launched a relief program that both helps businesses bring in more money and the customers have more to spend while shopping. The RAD Card, or Relief Across Downtown Card, was first launched in Modesto by the Downtown Modesto Partnership. The goal of the smartphone app is to help small businesses in the area that have struggled financially due to the pandemic.Customers can download the smartphone app, choose the community where they would like to spend their money and select the amount they wish to spend in $25 increments, up to $100. The county then matches the funds, dollar-for-dollar. The customer will then have double what they paid to spend at participating businesses. There are no strings attached, and it’s a first-come, first-serve basis. The county has set aside $1,000,000 for this program. Small business owners hope this will bring much-needed revenue to their operations. “We see corporations growing while we should be seeing small businesses being helped because they’re really the staples of each city. They’re what keeps the city going,” Elizabeth Guerrero, whose grandparents own Casa Flores in downtown Stockton, said.”I think you’re going to see a nice influx of cash and customers,” Eric Lee, the owner of Cast Iron Trading Company in downtown Stockton, said.Customers are also on board with the idea.”I think that’s awesome. I think that’s pretty cool that they’re doing that,” Veronica Montez said.The county is also hoping more businesses sign up for the RAD card program.Businesses that wish to participate can also download the free RAD Card app and contact their local Community Champion for their area to learn more about eligibility and instructions to sign up.Stockton – Tim Quinn tquinn@stocktonchamber.orgTracy – Tamra Spade tspade@tracychamber.orgManteca – Joann Beattie joann@manteca.orgLodi/Woodbridge – Pat Patrick ppatrick@lodichamber.comRipon – Kelly Donohue kdonohue@riponchamber.orgLathrop – Ed Wanket ewanket@sjcworknet.orgEscalon – Ed Wanket ewanket@sjcworknet.orgUnincorporated Areas – Ed Wanket ewanket@sjcworknet.org